Giveaway: Mona Di Orio Les Nombres d’Or Vanille 5 ml Rollerball RESULTS

Pirates_Booty_(6162463524)It’s hard to write or sample perfume with asthmatic bronchitis, which is why I’ve been quiet this week, but when I woke up this morning to a delightful post from Kafkaesque announcing she’d been nominated for a Versatile Blogger award and kindly mentioning this blog there I just had to update to share the excitement.  (Yes, I read  Wordpress updates 24/7.  No, I’m not agoraphobic but if I ever have to have major surgery the doctors will have a hard time prying my iPhone out of my hand.)

Kafkaesque is my favorite perfume blog for three reasons– (1) She’s an exquisite writer, giving you a grand experience no matter what the topic is.  (2) Whether our tastes coincide (most of the time) or converge (occasionally) I leave every review of hers knowing how I will feel about something, unfailingly.  (3) I have learned so much from her about the fragrance industry, notes, IFRA regulations and a variety of other topics.  Even this week when I’ve been absolutely unable to smell, reading her blog has been an oasis in my day.

I’m on the road to recovery finally, and to celebrate I’d like to have a little drawing that evokes the road to Madagascar.  I have one 5 ml rollerball of Mona Di Orio Vanille (from my own collection, with thanks to my good friend Vicki) to give away.  To win this beauty, please comment explaining how you stay sane when your sense of smell is under the weather.

The drawing will close on May 29 at 11:59 pm EDT and a winner will be selected randomly (via random.org) and posted here on May 30.   Good luck and look for another review here later today or tomorrow morning!

PLEASE NOTE: This giveaway is now closed. The winner as selected in a drawing from random.org is Mridula. Congratulations! Mridula, please email me at nancyknowsbest at live dot com with your full name and address to receive your prize.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Giveaway: Mona Di Orio Les Nombres d’Or Vanille 5 ml Rollerball RESULTS

  1. lucasai says:

    Oh, what a generous draw Nancy! I recently got a roller-ball mini of Mona di Orio Eau Absolue and it’s quite handy in using 🙂
    When my nose suffers from allergic reactions, sneezing or illness I try to replace perfume with incense sticks to scent the house around. And sometimes I just read reviews and try to use my imagination to create the olfactory feeling in my head 🙂

    • Hi Lucas, thanks for entering! Because everyone has been so generous to me of late that I feel it is time to pay it forward. The incense sticks are a wonderful idea and one I will have to try if this illness lasts much longer.

      • lucasai says:

        Incense sticks are a nice way to perfume the room or the entire house, and essential oils burners are also lovely.

      • I have not tried any of these yet and I am thinking it is time to rectify that. I do not know if they have yet infected Poland, but Yankee candles and their numerous cheap knockoffs make me ill, so in my head I was erroneously assuming I don’t like home fragrances. This weekend before I got sick I smelled a Lalique candle (Amethyst) and loved it.

      • lucasai says:

        As far as I know we don’t have Yankee candles in Poland, but we’ve got some small, Poland-based brands that make nice and not very expensive scented candles.

      • lucasai says:

        I just checked and there’s one online gift store here that offers Yankee Candles. I didn’t know that we have a retailer in Poland.

      • You weren’t missing much. 😉 Lucas, we have a large Polish community here in NJ and a wonderful deli (called Piast) that sells the most delicious cookies I have ever tasted. I thought they were fresh baked but it turns out they are boxed and imported from Poland. The next time I get them I’ll note the name.

      • lucasai says:

        Yaay for Polish cookies. I think there’s no other country that cooks such delicious food and sweets 😀

  2. Kevin says:

    Neat! How exciting. 🙂 I rarely get sick (knock on wood), but if my smell is ever under the weather, I indulge myself in other ways. Namely, I get a giant bowl of pho. Although I do that when I’m not sick, too, but I like to think it cures all ailments.

    • Hi Kevin, thanks for entering! Oh, what a wonderful idea! I am still sick enough that if I pout I can get the husband to deal with dinner, which means takeout. Glad to hear you rarely get sick!

      • Kevin says:

        If you don’t mind spice, I find the sriracha helps clear the sinuses. But I could basically have pho every day for the rest of my life and not get sick of it.

  3. What a great drawing!

    Since I’m newer to fragrances, I haven’t had my sense of smell go under for any period of time quite yet, since I’ve become a perfume fan. I suppose if that happened, either I’d just suck it up, or take the opportunity to use one of my less liked fragrances that I’m just trying to use up. I might enjoy a good dose of TokyoMilk La Vie La Mort if my nose was stuffed up enough to block out some of that heavy tuberose.

  4. Hi Nancy! I didn’t know about your blog and just discovered it through your post on FFF, but I intend on reading it more often 🙂
    I rarely get a diminished sense of smell even when I have a cold (knock on wood for that to stay so), but I do get more negatively sensitive to smells when I have a headache. I just take it as it comes: it is good to refrain from smelling for a while, it clears your mind and resets your sensory balance.

  5. Exactly the vanilla I want to smell more than any other!

    Though I don’t envy the bronchitis (oh lord how many times have I had that?), in my case, when my smell just completely goes I find it fascinating, in the sense that I no longer care how I smell, or if I stink, which is usually such an all-encompassing obsession. From the sanity point of view therefore it is almost liberating. I quite like not being able to smell for a while.

    O da-ji ni!
    Get well soon.

  6. sorry, fifteen years in Japan and I can’t even spell the anglicized version right.

    O DAI JI NI !!

  7. mridula says:

    Saw you on FFF and had to drop by.Mona di Orio’s Vanille is my favourite vanilla scent. I have asthma and years ago when it was undiagnosed and untreated I used to have an annual bout with bronchitis but using an inhaler on an sos basis and scarves to keep my throat warm have helped. I don’t like that many perfumes cause my throat to scratch and sometimes yes a reactive bout of coughing gets going. Last night this happened because of an overdose of Sa Majeste la Rose. sigh. What do I do?I try to lay off the good stuff and give myself a break. I imagine how great it will be to get back to smelling again when I am well. I review in my head all the choices in my cupboard. Anticipation is good.

  8. Tora says:

    What a great giveaway! I always feel bad for folks with severe allergies, or asthma, or any chronic respiratory condition that interferes with enjoying fragrances, and life in general. I only suffer allergies seasonally, and I turn into a sneezing fool. However, there is an aromatherapy blend I make for my clients who suffer, and that I use myself. It is easy to make, and it is very therapeutic. Mix 5ml French Lavender essential oil,10 ml Eucalyptus Radiata essential oil, 5ml Peppermint essential oil, and 2 ml camphor essential oil. Do not add carrier oil. This blend can be applied to a tissue or cotton ball and placed in a mini Baggie. The Baggie is opened as needed and you just inhale the captured aromatherapy . This can be added to a bath in small amounts , after testing for skin sensitivity. It can be added to lotion and rubbed on the chest, for bronchitis. A skin test for sensitivity should be done first. This blend is also wonderful for muscle aches ( in lotion) , and 20 drops on a tissue placed in a musty space, car, closet is very cleansing.

  9. rosiegreen says:

    When my allergies flare up and I cannot smell my remedy is no perfume, peppermint tea and pho. i will also use peppermint oil in my burner to freshen the house without provoking an allergic reaction. Thanks for the very generous drawing.

  10. Kafkaesque says:

    Thank you for your kind words about Kafkaesque and my writing. It means a lot to me. 🙂 As for asthmatic bronchitis, it sounds incredibly painful and I hope you feel better soon. No need to enter me into the drawing as I have already tried/reviewed Mona di Orio’s Vanille, but it’s a very generous giveaway. xoxoxo

  11. Strangely enough I’ve never had a situation where my sense of smell deserted me, even when I’m ill. I’m fortunate in that way! I guess if it ever happened what would keep me sane would be a warm cup of lemon and mint tea. That would clear my blocked nose in an instant!

    Thanks for such a generous draw, Nancy!

    • Hi Joshua, thanks for entering! I am envious of your strong sense of smell. 🙂 As of last night I’d say I’m back to about 50% capacity here and it’s really ruining the fun.

  12. I-Wei F. says:

    So glad to have found your perfume blog, I like your writing style. It’s imaginative and descriptive, yet not long winded and scholarly.
    When my sense of smell deserts me, I find that I start looking for different types of salt to taste. It seems to be another flavor that leaves strong imprints in my memory and leave pleasant feelings: fish sauce, soy sauce, miso, smoked salts, french salts, truffle salt, etc.

  13. leathermountain says:

    When my sense of smell is under the weather, I focus my nose on functional fragrances, which often penetrate the haze and rarely aggravate my problem. I take pleasure in my shampoo, dish soap, laundry detergent, hand soap, all those smells that aim to please without demanding any serious attention. I’ve been fortunate so far never to lose the sense completely. When smells are the problem (headache, etc.) I take baths and reduce other sensory inputs (light, sound). I imagine that being surrounded by water helps dissolve away any offending molecules. It may not be true but at least there’s a good placebo effect. Thank you for the lovely giveaway!

    • Thanks for entering, and thanks for the great suggestions!

      • leathermountain says:

        I just got sick, so now I’m speaking directly from experience. I’m loving my deodorant. It’s LUSH’s Aromaco, and it smells so funky! I bet a lot of people would consider it more of an odorant.

  14. Wow! What a great giveaway! Thank you for hosting!

    I too feel really bad for people who are sick a lot and can’t smell. I hardly ever get sick, but when I was pregnant, I couldn’t use most perfumes, and it was really stressful. I’m sorry to hear that you are sick!

    When I’m sick, I tend to wear Lisa Hoffman’s Agarwood rollerballs, which are very strong and cut through (without having too much sillage). I find it very comforting. Otherwise, I rely on strong chai tea and a warm bath, or putting a warming pad in the bed. Warmth in general is very nice when you’re sick.

    • Hi, thanks for entering! I have not tried those fragrances but will seek them out because anything that can be smelled through that sort of thing must be impressive!

  15. Rene Groyer (@ReneGroyer) says:

    I am sick right now with a sinus infection.Well its horrible but luckily my sense of smell is only slightly dampened.Threw in some rock crystal mint bath salts from a store called Rain (South Africa ) and that helped clearing out my bunged up sinuses for a while.There is a plus advantage though,ones appetite is curbed is you cant smell as well as usual .

  16. Pingback: Welcome to the Clockwork City, the mysterious land of living toys | Musings of a Mild Mannered Man

  17. Beth says:

    Oh how I hate a sinus infection. You cannot get comfortable, no matter which way you lay your head. I hope you feel better soon!

    I try and break through the awful heavy head feeling with Citrus. Somehow that seems cleansing to me. Lush makes some great citrusy scents, or a blend of lime, grapefruit and lemon oils on an oil burner help. Lush used to make a shower bomb that you would place at the foot of your shower and it would steam up. It was exactly that, lemon, lime and grapefruit, mixing in the hot steam of the shower. You could almost believe you could breathe again!

    Thanks for the draw 🙂 … I am a lurker, but I’ll come out of hiding for Mona 😛

Leave a Reply

